Breadcrumbs

What Are Breadcrumbs?

A breadcrumb (or "breadcrumb trail") is a secondary navigation tool to help users find their way around a website. Breadcrumbs typically appear as a "trail" of links at the top of the page to indicate to the user where the page is in the hierarchy of pages.

In terms of usability, breadcrumbs reduce the number of actions a website visitor needs to take in order to get to a higher-level page, and they improve the findability of website sections and pages.

More about breadcrumb examples and best practices.

Breadcrumb Trail


How Breadcrumbs Are Created

Breadcrumbs are generated automatically by the template system when a new page is created. The template system looks at where the page "lives" in the site hierarchy and creates a URL path accordingly. This URL path is displayed as the breadcrumb on the page.


To Edit a Breadcrumb

After a page is created, you may decide to move it to another location in the menu structure. When a page moves, the URL path remains the same unless you manually change it, thus changing the breadcrumb trail.

To manually change the url path and breadcrumb:

First, make note of the NEW location of where you want to move the page to. Write down the path.

For example: if your page currently lives at Home>Music >Jazz>Page-Title and you want to move it to Home>Music>Classical>Page-Title make note of the path ...music/classical/page-title

  1. Go to the page you want to change and click edit
  2. In the Permalink field below the page title, enter the new path of the new location of the page
    permalink text box
  3. Click Save

Turning Breadcrumbs Off Sitewide

Breadcrumbs are not always necessary or useful. If you have a website that only has a sinlgel-level hierarchy or does not have many nested pages, then a breadcrumb trail is not needed. In the template system, you may turn off the breadcrumb feature.

To turn on/off breadcrumbs:

  1. From the admin toolbar, Go to Appearance
  2. Select Settings (for the theme that you're using)
  3. Under Breadcrumb Settings, select yes or no
  4. Click Save Configuration